Tag Archives: Maha Asthami

Global Dashain Celebrations: Important Dashain Sait 2021 - Dashain.com.au

It’s Dashain season, the biggest Festival time

Autumn is in full bloom as the rainy season clouds change into flawless blue skies. As the festive season draws near, it gets marked by crisp air, warm weather, and colourful dragonflies. Religion, celebration, and rituals are significant in Nepal during the autumn festival season. However, a pandemic may mean that people will not be able to hold their ceremonies this year within their homes. COVID-19 has caused an increase in cases, so it has become increasingly difficult to observe Dashain season and celebrations that involve social gatherings, such as Teej and Indra Jatra. In 2021, what will be the grand celebration of the Dashain festival? Dashain festivals are not instances of mass gatherings, travelling, and visiting relatives across numerous places. Family members stay in the house to celebrate and enjoy festivals. 

Read More »
Dashain festival 2021: Lockdown and celebration - Dashain.com.au

All about Maha Asthami you must need to know in Dashain

During the Dashain celebrations, Durga Ashtami is celebrated on the eighth day. As part of Durga Puja, Durgashtami is also known as Maha Ashtami, and many people fast on this day. In 2021, Durga Ashtami falls on October 13. On the day, Goddess Durga's weapons are worshipped, and it is called Astra Puja. As a result of displays using arms and martial arts, the day is called Virashtami. One of the most essential days in Hinduism is dedicated to Goddess worship. Certain areas believe that Chamunda brought an end to Chanda, Munda, and Rakthabija (the three demons associated with Mahishasura) on this day. At Durga Puja, Mahashtami, Yoginis and Ashta Shaktis (the eight ferocious forms of Goddess Durga) are worshipped. It is understood that Ashta Sati, or the Eight Shaktis, vary according to the regions in South Asia. All eight goddesses are incarnations of Shakti. Despite representing different energies, these Divine Feminines are one powerful presence. When Durga Puja is performed, Ashta Shakti is worshipped as Brahmani, Maheswari, Kaumari, Vaishnavi, Varahi, Narasinghi, Indrani, and Chamunda. 

Read More »